[UPDATED] University of Ghana Academic Calendar 2020/2021

Advertisements

University of Ghana Tentative Academic Calendar 2020/2021. UG Legon Academic Calendar for 2020/2021 Academic Session has been released.

UPDATED:

Following the Presidential directive on the re-opening of tertiary institutions contained in his address to the Nation on Sunday, 18th October, 2020, the draft Academic Calendar for 2020/21 academic year approved by the Business and Executive Committee (BEC) of the Academic Board, at its meeting on Thursday, 10th September, 2020, is hereby suspended.

Arrangements for the reopening of the University for the 2020-2021 Academic Year will be announced in due course, after the Academic Board/BEC reconvenes.

The management of the University of Ghana (UG) has released the official academic calendar for the institution for the 2020/2021 academic session.

The University of Ghana (UG) Academic Calendar serves as an information source and planning document for students, faculty, staff and departments, as well as outside organisations. The calendar includes registration dates, class start dates, add/drop deadlines, exam dates and more.

UNIVERSITY OF GHANA ACADEMIC CALENDAR 

The Business and Executive Committee at its meeting approved the tentative Academic Calendars for the 2020/2021 Academic Year, subject to further directives from the President on the reopening of Tertiary Institutions.

University of Ghana Academic Calendar for Undergraduate Programmes

2020/2021 ACADEMIC CALENDAR UNDERGRADUATE – MAIN CAMPUS FIRST SEMESTER 

DRAFT

LEVEL 200 & 400 STUDENTS, Post First Degree Law Students
ACTIVITY DATE
Uploading Courses and Linking of first semester courses to Lecturers (Levels 100 

– 400)

Tuesday September 1, 2020 – Wednesday September 30, 2020
Registration begins (Continuing students) Thursday, October 12, 2020
Students Report Wednesday, October 28 – Sunday November 1, 2020
Teaching Begins Monday, November 2, 2020 (for 6 weeks)
Deadline for Registration Friday November 13, 2020
Deadline for Add/Drop of Courses/Deferment (Levels 200 and 400) Friday November 13, 2020
Virtual Congregation: 

College of Humanities, College of Basic and Applied Sciences, College of Education, College of Health Sciences, School of Graduate Studies

Monday November 30 – Saturday December 5, 2020
Break for Presidential / Parliamentary Elections Friday December 4 – Tuesday December 8, 2020
Resumption of Lectures Wednesday December 9 2020
Students’ Evaluation of Lecturers levels 200 and 400 Monday December 14 Friday December 18, 2020
Teaching Ends Friday 18th December 2020
Revision Monday, December 21 – Friday, December 31, 2020
First Semester Examinations Monday, January 4 – Monday January 18, 2021 (14 days)
First Semester ends Monday January 18, 2021
Inter Semester break Tuesday January 19 – Sunday, April 25, 2021
Disinfection of Campus Wednesday, January 21 – Sunday, January 24, 2021
*UG Medical School; Dental School; School of Biomedical and Allied Health Sciences; School of Veterinary Medicine; School of Nursing and Midwifery *UGMS, UGDS, SBAHS, SONM, and SVM may have different dates because their semesters extend beyond the normal
2020/2021 ACADEMIC CALENDAR UNDERGRADUATE – MAIN CAMPUS SECOND SEMESTER 

DRAFT

LEVEL 200 & 400 STUDENTS
ACTIVITY DATE
Uploading Courses and Linking second semester courses to Lecturers (All courses) Monday March 1 – Sunday March 22, 2021
Registration for second semester begins (All students) Monday, April 12, 2021
Students Report Friday, April 23 – Sunday, April 25, 2021
Teaching Begins Monday, April 26, 2021 (for 6 weeks)
Deadline for Registration Friday May 7, 2021
Deadline for Add/Drop of Courses/Deferment Friday May 7, 2021
Students’ Evaluation of Lecturers (Levels 200 and 400) Monday May 31 – Friday June 4, 2021
Teaching Ends Friday, June 4, 2021
Revision Monday, June 7 – Friday, June 11, 2021
Second Semester Examinations Saturday, June 12 – Saturday, June 26, 2021 (2 weeks)
Second Semester ends Saturday, June 26, 2021
Disinfection of Campus Tuesday, 28 – Friday July 2, 2021
Vacation Sunday July 3……….. , 2021
Virtual Congregation: 

College of Humanities (School of Law), College of Health Sciences (UG Medical School, UG Dental School)

DATE TO BE DETERMINED
2020/2021 ACADEMIC CALENDAR UNDERGRADUATE – MAIN CAMPUS FIRST SEMESTER 

DRAFT

LEVEL 100 & 300 STUDENTS
ACTIVITY DATE
Registration begins (Levels 100 & 300) Monday, January 11, 2021 – Friday January 22, 2021
Students Report (Levels 100 & 300) Monday, January 25 – Sunday January 31, 2021
Level 100 Orientation Online / Virtual – College based – January 27-29, 2021
Teaching Begins (Levels 100 and 300) Monday, February 1, 2021 (for 6 weeks)
Deadline for Registration (Level 300) Friday February 12, 2021
Deadline for Add/Drop of Courses/Deferment (Level 300) Friday February 12, 2021
Deadline for Registration (Level 100) Friday February 19, 2021
Matriculation Saturday February 20, 2021
Academic Prizes Ceremony Thursday February 18, and Friday February 19, 2021 (Virtual?)
Students’ Evaluation of Lecturers (100 & 300) Monday, March 8 – Friday March 12, 2021
Teaching Ends Friday, March 12, 2021
Revision Monday March 15 – Friday March 19, 2021
Aggrey-Fraser-Guggisberg Memorial lectures March 2021
First Semester Examinations Monday, March 22 – Sunday, April 11, 2021 (16 days)
Supplementary Re-sit Examinations for Second semester courses Saturday, March 20 – Friday, April 9, 2021
First semester ends Friday, April 9, 2021
Inter-semester break Saturday, April 10 – Sunday, July 4, 2021
Disinfection of Campus Wednesday, April 14 – Monday, April 19, 2021
*UG Medical School; Dental School; School of Biomedical and Allied Health Sciences; School of Veterinary Medicine; School of Nursing and Midwifery *UGMS, UGDS, SBAHS, SONM and SVM may have different dates because their semesters extend beyond the normal
2020/2021 ACADEMIC CALENDAR UNDERGRADUATE – MAIN CAMPUS SECOND SEMESTER 

DRAFT

LEVEL 100 & 300 STUDENTS, Post First Degree Law Students
ACTIVITY DATE
Registration begins (Levels 100 & 300) mop up Monday, June 14, 2021
Students Report Friday, July 2 – Sunday, July 4, 2021
Teaching Begins Monday, July 5, 2021 (for 6 weeks)
Deadline for Registration Friday July 16, 2021
Deadline for Add/Drop of Courses/Deferment Friday July 16, 2021
Students’ Evaluation of Lecturers (Levels 100 & 300) Monday, August 9 – Friday August 13, 2021
Teaching Ends Friday August 13, 2021
Revision Monday, August 16 – Friday August 20, 2021
Second Semester Examinations Saturday, August 21 – Sunday, September 5, 2021
Supplementary Re-sit Examinations for first semester courses Saturday, August 21 – Sunday, September 5, 2021
Second Semester ends Sunday, September 5, 2021
Vacation Monday, September 6 – ……, 2021
Disinfection of Campus Thursday, September 9 – Thursday, September 16, 2021

University of Ghana Academic Calendar for Postgraduate Programmes

ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2020/2021 ACADEMIC YEAR FIRST SEMESTER 

DRAFT

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES
ACTIVITY DATE
Registration (All Students) Thursday, October 1 – Thursday October 22, 2020
Students Report Wednesday, October 28 – Sunday November 1, 2020
Teaching Begins Monday, November 2, 2020 (13 weeks)
Deadline for Registration Friday November 13, 2020
Deadline for Add/Drop of Courses/Deferment Friday November 13, 2020
Congregation: 

College of Humanities, College of Education, College of Health Sciences College of Basic and Applied Sciences School of Graduate Studies

Monday November 30 – Saturday December 5, 2020
Break for Presidential/Parliamentary Elections Friday, December 4 – Tuesday, December 8, 2020
Teaching Resumes Wednesday, December 9, 2020
Christmas Break Monday December 21 2020 – Sunday January 3, 2021
Teaching Resumes Monday January 4, 2021
Academic Prizes Ceremony Thursday February 18, 2021 and Friday February 19, 2021
Teaching Ends Friday, February 19, 2021
Revision Monday, February 22 – Friday, February 26, 2021
First Semester Examinations Monday March 1 – Friday March 12 (2 weeks)
First semester Ends Friday, March 12, 2021
Inter-Semester Break Monday, March 12 – Wednesday, April 7, 2021
Aggrey-Fraser-Guggisberg Memorial lectures March 2021
ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2020-2021 ACADEMIC YEAR SECOND SEMESTER 

DRAFT

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES
ACTIVITY DATE
Registration Begins Monday, March 22 2021
Students Report Wednesday, April 7 – Sunday April11, 2021
Teaching Begins Monday, April 12, 2021 (for 13 weeks)
Deadline for Registration Friday, April 23 2021
Deadline for Add/Drop of Courses/Deferment Friday, April 23 2021
Teaching Ends Friday, July 9, 2021
Revision Monday, July 12 – Friday, July 16, 2021
Second Semester Examinations Monday July 19 – Friday July 30, 2021 (2 weeks)
Second Semester Ends Friday, August 6, 2021
Vacation Saturday, August 7 – ………..
Disinfection of Graduate Hostels Monday, August 16 – Friday, August 20, 2021

University of Ghana Academic Calendar for School of Continuing and Distance Education

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION

SCHOOL OF CONTINUING AND DISTANCE EDUCATION

DEPARTMENT OF DISTANCE EDUCATION ACADEMIC CALENDAR

FIRST SEMESTER 2020/2021 ACADEMIC YEAR DRAFT

On-line Registration / Re-sit Registration for Continuing Students/ DEFERMENT

Centre Registration / Downloading of course materials at the Learning Centres (All students)

Monday, October 26, – Friday, December 18, 2020
Tutorials Begin for continuing students Saturday, November 7, 2020
Freshmen Registration (Level 100, Level 200 and Diploma)

–  On-line Registration/ Centre Registration

–  Downloading of course materials at the Learning Centres

Yet to be determined
Tutorials Begin for Fresh students Yet to be determined
Orientation for Freshmen Yet to be determined
Academic Advising/Re-orientation (Continuing Students) Details to be announced later
Deadline for FEE PAYMENT Friday, December 11, 2020
Deadline for On-line /Re-sit Registration/ ADD/DROP of Courses / DEFERMENT Friday, December 18, 2020
Matriculation Yet to be determined
Interim/ Continuous Assessment (SAKAI – Online) Friday, January 8 – Sunday, January 17, 2021
Congregation N/A
End of Tutorials Sunday, January 31, 2021
Revision Saturday, February 6 – Sunday, February 21, 2021
Examinations Friday, February 26– Sunday, March 21, 2021
End of Semester Sunday, March 21, 2021

DEPARTMENT OF DISTANCE EDUCATION ACADEMIC CALENDAR

SECOND SEMESTER 2020/2021 ACADEMIC YEAR DRAFT

On-line Registration / Re-sit Registration 

Centre Registration/Downloading of Course Materials at the Learning Centres

Monday, May 10, 2021
Tutorials Begin Saturday, May 22, 2021
Deadline for FEE PAYMENT Friday, June 25, 2021
Deadline for On-line /Re-sit Registration/ ADD/DROP of Courses / DEFERMENT Monday, June 28, 2921
Academic Advising Students Forum Saturday, July 3, -Sunday, July 4, 2021
Interim/Continuous Assessment (SAKAI – Online) Friday, July 9 – Sunday, July 25, 2021
End of Tutorials Sunday, August 14, 2021
Revision Saturday, August 21 – Sunday, August 29 2021
Examinations Friday, September 10, 2021 – Sunday, October 3, 

2021

End of Semester Sunday, October 3, 2021

Public Holidays

 Eidul-Fitr** Eidul-Adha 

Founders’ Day      –        August 4, 2020 Kwame Nkrumah Mem. Day    –                                                September 21, 2020 Farmers’ Day                  –        December 4, 2020

Voting Day                               –        December 7, 2020

Christmas Day                          –        December 25, 2020

Boxing Day                              –        December 26, 2020

New Year’s Day                       –        January 1, 2021

  

Constitution Day      –        January 7, 2021

Independence Day    –        March 6, 2021

Good Friday             –        April 2, 2021

Easter Monday         –        April 5, 2021

May Day                  –        May 1, 2021

 

**Dates: to be confirmed

WhatsApp & Telegram Job Alert

To get daily Job Alerts on Whatsapp, Join Our WhatsApp Group via the link below.

NOTE: PLEASE IF YOU’RE ON ANY OF OUR WHATSAPP GROUPS, DON’T JOIN THIS ONE

CLICK HERE TO JOIN WHATSAPP GROUP

CLICK HERE TO JOIN TELEGRAM CHANNEL

DOWNLOAD NEWSNOWGH MOBILE APP BELOW FOR MORE JOBS

CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD APP

NOTE:

UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCE SHOULD AN APPLICANT PAY MONEY TO ANYONE IN GETTING A JOB WE HAVE PUBLISHED 

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

READ ON:  NTC RESULTS CHECK || Teacher licensure exam released 2019/2020

Leave a Reply